NEWS | Cockerill makes nine changes for London Irish clash

Head coach Richard Cockerill has named his Edinburgh side for tomorrow afternoon’s European Challenge Cup opener against London Irish at the Madejski Stadium (Saturday 14 October, kick-off 3pm).

The team selection includes nine changes to the starting XV which proved too strong for Zebre at Myreside last weekend. In the back-three, Glenn Bryce replaces the injured Blair Kinghorn at fullback whilst wing Damien Hoyland rotates in for Tom Brown who drops to the bench. Dougie Fife keeps his spot on the opposite flank.

A revamped midfield sees Chris Dean return to action at outside centre. The 23-year-old links-up with Junior Rasolea who makes his first start since the season opener. Jason Tovey continues at stand-off and is partnered by Sam Hidalgo-Clyne.

In the front-row, Stuart McInally keeps his spot at hooker after his impressive outing against Zebre last weekend. The 27-year-old will pack down alongside Simon Berghan and Allan Dell – who also makes his first start of the season.

In the second-row, Ben Toolis is joined by Fraser McKenzie - who skippers the side on his 85th appearance in the black and red. The only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-row sees John Hardie replace Magus Bradbury.

On his team selection, Richard Cockerill said: “We’ve picked a strong side which we believe can compete against a dangerous London Irish side. We’ve made nine changes, but the guys who’ve come in have a point to prove and we hope they can put their hand up for future selection.”

“This club has experienced some relative success in European competition, so we hope with a positive result tomorrow we can kick-start another memorable run once again.”


Edinburgh team to face London Irish at the Madejski Stadium in the European Challenge Cup on Saturday 14 October (kick-off 3pm)


 15 Glenn Bryce (25)


14 Dougie Fife (88)

13 Chris Dean (46)

12 Junior Rasolea (16)

11 Damien Hoyland (50)


10 Jason Tovey (28)

9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (88)


1 Allan Dell (40)

2 Stuart McInally (107)

3 Simon Berghan (37)

4 Fraser McKenzie CAPTAIN (84)

5 Ben Toolis (74)

6 Jamie Ritchie (35)

7 John Hardie (24)

8 Cornell du Preez (86)




16 Neil Cochrane (55)

17 Daryl Marfo (6)

18 WP Nel (108)

19 Grant Gilchrist (103)

20 Luke Crosbie (1)

21 Nathan Fowles (38)

22 Tom Brown (110)

23 Jason Harries (4)


Edinburgh Rugby appearances in brackets