NEWS | Six Edinburgh players named in Scotland team to face France

Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named six Edinburgh players in his matchday 23 for this Sunday’s NatWest 6 Nations match against France at BT Murrayfield Stadium (11 February, kick-off 3pm) – live on BBC.

The selection sees Blair Kinghorn named on the bench and if involved the 21-year-old fullback will make his Scotland debut.

Hooker Stuart McInally starts at hooker and will pack down alongsde tighthead prop Simon Berghan, who is named in the starting XV after becoming available at the end of a six-week suspension. 

In the second-row, Grant Gilchrist takes the place of teammate Ben Toolis, who drops to the bench. Hamish Watson once again features in a potent back-row trio.

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend, said: “As a group we’re delighted to be playing at home in front of another sell-out crowd at BT Murrayfield and are looking forward to putting in a performance that can energise our supporters.

“To do that we need to out-work the opposition and be more accurate in a number of aspects of our play.

“We’ve seen a response from the players in training this week and that needs to continue into and through the 80-plus minutes of the match because France will pose a massive and immensely-physical challenge.”

Scotland team to play France at BT Murrayfield Stadium NatWest 6 Nations
Round 2: Sunday 11 February (kick-off 3pm) - live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 56 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 40 caps
13 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
12. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 29 caps
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 30 caps

10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps
9. Greig Laidlaw VICE CAPTAIN (ASM Clermont Auvergne) – 59 caps

1. Gordon Reid (London Irish) – 28 caps
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 13 caps
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 19 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 39 caps
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets) – 67 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 16 caps
8. Ryan Wilson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps

16. Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons) – 47 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps
18. Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons) – 12 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 8 caps
20. David Denton (Worcester Warriors) – 35 caps
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
22. Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps
23. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped