NEWS | McInally named as Scotland captain

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has named Edinburgh’s Stuart McInally as captain for next month’s 2018 Summer Tour to Canada, USA and Argentina.

The 17-times capped hooker is one of eleven Edinburgh players included in the 33-man squad who will open the tour against Canada in Edmonton on Saturday 9 June.

Edinburgh back-row duo Lewis Carmichael and Jamie Ritchie are both named, and if involved will make their Scotland debuts.

Elsewhere - Simon Berghan, Magnus Bradbury Allan Dell, Grant Gilchrist, Murray McCallum and Ben Toolis are named amongst a strong forwards selection.

After making his Scotland debut in the Six Nations earlier this year, Blair Kinghorn is included for the four-week tour. While departing scrum-half Sam Hidalgo-Clyne sees a return to international duty.

Scotland Head Coach, Gregor Townsend, said: “There are twin goals for this tour - the first is to build on the work we’ve done so far this season and finish with improved performances. We also have the Rugby World Cup in our thoughts, as this will be our last tour before we leave for Japan next year.

“Touring and staying together for four weeks and experiencing different environments will be very informative - seeing how players get on with each other, how much they improve and how they rise to each challenge we face on tour.”




Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 8 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby) – 10 caps
David Denton (Worcester Warriors) – 39 caps
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 22 caps
Richie Gray (Toulouse) – 65 caps
Luke Hamilton (Leicester Tigers) – 1 cap
Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby) – 1 cap
Stuart McInally CAPTAIN (Edinburgh Rugby) – 17 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 36 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps

BACKS (15)

Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps
Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps
Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps
Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 60 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps
Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps
Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
James Lang (Harlequins) – uncapped
Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 3 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 21 caps

2018 Summer Tour dates

Saturday 9 June: Canada v Scotland; Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (kick-off 7.10pm)

Saturday 16 June: USA v Scotland; BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston (kick-off 7pm)

Weekend of 22 June: Argentina v Scotland; Estadio Centenario (kick-off 4.40pm)